homefootball contestsports schedulescontactlinksarchives

Links for Thursday, May 16, 2013:

newstown talkathleteselection

Athletes honored at all-sports banquet

The 2012-2013 Friona High School all-sports awards banquet was held Tuesday, May 7, 2013. The banquet was held in the high school cafeteria followed by the awards program in the high school auditorium.

The annual banquet is sponsored by the Chieftain/Squaw Booster Club. During the year the Booster activities included purchase of a painting machine for the football field, varsity letter jackets for all sports, football and volleyball yard signs, sale of shirts, posters, sweatshirts, bracelets, programs, playoff shirts, and pom poms, raffled autographed footballs and basketballs, purchased baseball caps, hosted senior parent recognitions, hosted the all-sports banquet, operated concession stand, held homecoming bonfire, and held halftime contests during football and basketball games.

Presentation of awards was given by coaches. Head Coach Mike Prokop and Coach Daniel Hutchins presided as master of ceremonies. Most Valuable Player awards were:

Cross country, Sajal Patel and Armando Flores; varsity volleyball, Kalley Preston; football, offense, O.P. Vazquez and defense, Stephen Dominguez; basketball, girls Dakotah Hicks and boys, offense Cole Stowers and defense Jake DeWit; powerlifting, Selena Hernandez and Edgar Guerrero; golf, Kendall Kimbrough and Stephen Albarado; tennis, Brianna Miller and Adrain Prieto; track, Adilene Adame and Abayomi Salinas; baseball, Stephen Albarado and Nathaniel Gonzales.

The Fighting Squaw awards went to Brianna Miller and Kalley Preston; Fighting Chieftain award to Sawyer Osborn; and the Fighting Heart awards went to Stephen Albarado and Maddie Murphree.

Coach Daniel Hutchins moderated the Senior Spotlight, introducing each senior athlete, and the evening concluded with the singing of the Friona School Song. A special award was given to Samuel Silva. Coach David Woods said Samuel was named the Special Olympics Athlete of the Year for the State of Texas.