homesports schedulescontactlinksweb archivesnewspaper archives

Links for Thursday, March 6, 2014:

newsobituariestown talkFISD election council election election results

Election results

According to Parmer County Tax Assessor Bobbie Pierson there are 4,293 registered voters in the county. After Tuesday’s primary election, the County Clerk staff counted 896 ballots. Of those, 869 were Republican and 27 were Democrat ballots. That is a voter turnout of 20.87%.

In the only locally contested race, Steve Cockerham won the Precinct 2 County Commissioner race with 133 votes over Mitch Terry’s 114. For state senator, Kel Seliger got 440 votes and Mike Cannon 331.

For U.S. Senate, John Cornyn received 60% of county votes, Congressman Randy Neugebauer received 81%, for governor, Greg Abbott 89%, for Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick 34% and David Dewhurst 31%.

For land office commissioner, George P. Bush received 71% of the county vote, for comptroller, Glenn Hegar drew 53%, and for attorney general, Ken Paxton had 37% of the vote over his two competitors.

In the Democrat governor’s race, 24 ballots were cast in the county with Wendy Davis and Ray Madrigal each received 12 votes, a 50/50 split, however, statewide Mrs. Davis was the clear winner.