homesports schedulescontactlinksarchives

Links for Thursday, August 3, 2017:

News Town TalkA New School YearChiefs, SquawsFJHS OrientationFriona Youth Dayz

Chieftains, Squaws ready for new year

School bells will be ringing on Thursday, August 17 but school sports kicked into high gear on Tuesday, August 1 with FHS volleyball and cross country starting two-a days. FHS football two-a-days begin Monday, August 7. These athletes are getting ready for a season filled with competition and challenges. Many of these athletes have been preparing all summer for this fall.

The varsity volleyball girls will not be wasting any time getting into the swing of things. They will travel to Amarillo on Monday, August 7 to face WT and Holy Cross in a dual meet that begins at 10 a.m.

The junior varsity and C-team will be hosting Tulia on Tuesday, August 8 starting at 1 p.m. at the FHS gym.

Varsity, junior varsity and C-team complete schedules are on page 9.

FHS varsity, junior varsity and freshmen football teams will scrimmage the Abernathy Antelopes on Friday, August 18 and the Sundown Roughnecks on Friday, August 25 in Friona starting at 5 p.m. at Chieftain Field.

The Chieftains will travel to Farwell on Friday, September 1 for their first game of the season. The varsity, junior varsity, freshmen, 8th and 7th grade schedules are on page 9.

Friona Junior High will begin their volleyball season on Thursday, August 31 and Saturday, September 2 at the Border Bash Tournament held in Friona. The complete FJHS schedule is on page 9.

The FHS cross country team will travel to Clovis for their first meet on Friday, August 25. They are scheduled to run in seven meets before competing in the district competition at Lubbock Mae Simmons. The high school and junior high schedules are on page 9.

It is a brand-new school year with a fresh start. Good luck to all of these teams and the young men and ladies who work so hard.